UFC Fight Night 40 Results: Matt Brown Wins His Seventh Straight, Bonuses, Attendance

Matt Brown earned his UFC welterweight division record ninth knockout finish in the main event of UFC Fight Night 40 from Cincinnati Saturday night, much to the delight of his home fans. Brown scored a third round TKO over Erick Silva in the main event after the two went toe-to-toe for the duration of the contest.

Brown won for the seventh straight time and asked the crowd who they wanted to see fight for the UFC welterweight title next. The loud response was positive for "The Immortal," who held the arena in his hands from the time he walked out until his hand was raised.

Silva nearly had him finished in the first round, delivering a kick to the body that floored the contender. He worked for a potential rear-naked choke, but was unable to secure it. Brown quickly recovered and went on the attack.

By the time the third round came to be, Brown was in complete control. He dropped Silva with a flurry and pounced, attacking him before the ref finally stepped in and stopped the action. The Brazilian had to be escorted out of the Octagon on a stretcher.

In the co-main event, Costas Philippou defeated Lorenz Larkin with a first round knockout, Daron Cruickshank finished Erik Koch and Jimmy Eduardo upset former UFC bantamweight title contender Eddie Wineland.

Brown was a double-bonus winner, pocketing $100,000, sharing "Fight of the Night" with Silva and also earning a "Performance of the Night" award. Silva won $50,000, as did Eduardo for his finish. The attendance inside the U.S. Bank Arena was 6,143 for a live gate of $415,000.

Complete results can be found below:

Matt Brown def. Erick Silva via TKO (strikes) at 2:11 of Round 3

Costas Philippou def. Lorenz Larkin via KO (right-hand) at 3:47 of Round 1

Daron Cruickshank def. Erik Koch via TKO (strikes) at 3:21 of Round 1

Neil Magny def. Tim Means via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Soa Palelei def. Ruan Potts via KO (left-hook) at 2:20 of Round 1

Chris Cariaso def. Louis Smolka via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Ed Herman def. Rafael Natal via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Kyoji Horiguchi def. Darrell Montague via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Zak Cummings def. Yan Cabral via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Johnny Eduardo def. Eddie Wineland via TKO (strikes) at 4:37 of Round 1

Nik Lentz def. Manny Gamburyan via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Justin Salas def. Ben Wall via TKO (strikes) at 2:41 of Round 1

Albert Tumenov def. Anthony Lapsley via KO (left-hook) at 3:56 of Round 1


Back To Top