UFC On Fox Results: Violent Championship Fight, Miesha Tate In Number One Contender's Bout, More

UFC on Fox Chicago is in the books, and was witness to one of the most violent finishes in UFC history, as Bantamweight Champion TJ Dillashaw totally wrecked former title holder Renan Barao.

The two traded heavy shots early, but Dillashaw played a similar game as he did in their May 2014 fight, utilizing exceptional footwork and head movement to stifle Barao. Still, Barao found success with a few good punches until round 3 when he became completely exhausted. By round 4, Dillashaw was landing at will. Midway through the round, Dillashaw unleashed a wicked flurry of about 30 punches that caused Herb Dean to step in and stop the fight.

With Barao out of the 135-pound title picture, expect him to make a move up to 145-pounds. Dillashaw is likely to face Raphael Assuncao, while the UFC prays that Dominick Cruz can get and stay healthy.

Another big fight on the show was Miesha Tate earning yet another championship opportunity after a win over Jessica Eye. Eye looked to be handling Tate pretty well early on, but in typical Tate fashion, she brought the pain later on. Tate ended up winning the bout via unanimous decision, taking all three rounds on all three scorecards.

You can see full results of the event below:

Main Card:

UFC Bantamweight Championship
T.J. Dillashaw (c) def. Renan Barao (#1) via TKO (punches) Round 4, 0:35 to retain the UFC Bantamweight Championship

Miesha Tate (#2) def. Jessica Eye (#5) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Edson Barboza (#7) def. Paul Felder via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Joe Lauzon def. Takanori Gomi via TKO (punches) Round 1, 2:37

Preliminary Card

Tom Lawlor def. Gian Villante (#15) via knockout (punches) Round 2, 0:27

Jim Miller def. Danny Castillo via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Ben Saunders def. Kenny Robertson via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Bryan Caraway (#12) def. Eddie Wineland via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

James Krause def. Daron Cruickshank via submission (rear-naked choke) Round 1, 1:27

Andrew Holbrook def. Ramsey Nijem via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Elizabeth Phillips def. Jessamyn Duke via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Zak Cummings def. Dominique Steele via TKO (strikes) Round 1, 0:43


Back To Top