NJPW Power Struggle Results (11/5): Chris Jericho Challenges Kenny Omega, Title Changes Hands

NJPW Power Struggle took place earlier today and during the show it was announced in 2018 NJPW plans to return to the U.S. on March 25 in Long Beach, California at the Walter Pyramid. The G1 Special in July had just over 2,700 fans in attendance on each of their nights in Long Beach. The Walter Pyramid typically holds around 5,000 people.

During today's show, Roppongi 3K was able to win the Super Jr. Tag Tournament Finals, this was the first time reigning champions made it to the finals and won the tournament. After the match, The Young Bucks came to the ring to challenge them and Roppongi 3K's manager, Rocky Romero, accepted.

For the title matches, Minoru Suzuki retained the NEVER Openweight Championship against Toru Yano. Marty Scurll defeated Will Ospreay to win the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship and it looks like it will be Marty Scurll vs. Will Ospreay vs. KUSHIDA vs. Hiromu Takahashi at Wrestle Kingdom 12. Kenny Omega was able to defeat Baretta in a tough battle and post-match accepted a challenge from Chris Jericho (who showed up on the big screen) to wrestle at Wrestle Kingdom 12 in January. In the main event, Hiroshi Tanahashi beat Kota Ibushi in an absolute war. Switchblade vignettes that ran for months revealed it was Jay White, who headed to the ring, and challenged Tanahashi.

Below are the full results:

* David Finlay defeated Katsuya Kitamura
* The Young Bucks defeated Titan and Dragon Lee
* Juice Robinson, Tiger Mask IV, Jushin Thunder Liger, KUSHIDA, and Hirai Kawato defeated Zack Sabre Jr, El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Taichi, and TAKA Michinoku
* Togi Makabe, Satoshi Kojima, and Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Cody, Chase Owens, and Yujiro Takahashi
* Roppongi 3K (SHO and YOH) defeated Ryusuke Taguchi and ACH (Super Jr. Tag Tournament Final)
* Kazuchika Okada, Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii, YOSHI-HASHI, and Gedo defeated Tetsuya Naito, EVIL, SANADA, BUSHI, and Hiromu Takahashi
* Minoru Suzuki (c) defeated Toru Yano (NEVER Openweight Championship Bullrope Match)
* Marty Scurll defeated Will Ospreay (c) (IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship)
* Kenny Omega (c) defeated Baretta (IWGP United States Championship)
* Hiroshi Tanahashi (c) defeated Kota Ibushi (IWGP Intercontinental Championship)

Next up is the World Tag League (round robin tournament style, like the G1 Climax) with the winning team getting a future shot at the IWGP Tag Team Championship. Teams have yet to be announced, but the tournament will begin on November 18. Last year's winners were Togi Makabe and Tomoaki Honma.


Back To Top