In 2016, it was announced that the Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling (GLOW) promotion will be returning to television. The comedy-series, created by Liz Flahive and Carly Mensch, and produced by Orange is the New Black creator Jenji Kohan and co-executive producer Tara Herrmann, was picked up by Netflix to air 10 episodes. Due to the rave reviews and success of the show, GLOW was picked up for another 10 episodes as of August of 2017.

CNN reported that GLOW has been nominated for four Screen Actors Guild awards. The categories include Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series (Marc Maron), Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series (Alison Brie), Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series, and Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Television Series.

I spoke to GLOW cast member and former WWE / current Lucha Underground referee Marty Elias about the achievement.

“GLOW has been nominated for 4 Critics’ Choice Awards, 2 Writers Guild of America Awards, and additional SAG awards!” Elias said. “I’m so blessed!”

The series also has cameos from pro wrestling talent John Morrison, Tyrus, Carlito, Christopher Daniels, Frankie Kazarian, Joey Ryan, Alex Riley, and Laura James, and features former Impact Wrestling Knockouts Champion Kia Stevens (Awesome Kong). Former ECW Champion Chavo Guerrero, Jr. serves the role of a consultant for the wrestling scenes.

The SAG awards has been one of the industry’s most honored prizes since 1995, and is scheduled to air on Sunday, January 21, 2018, on TNT and TBS.

Source: CNN